The Garden of Survival- Algernon Blackwood

77 Seiten


The Garden of Survival Algernon Blackwood - A narrative told in the first person in the way of a letter from Richard to his twin brother. This book is not only about the wondrous tales of his life, career and travels, but moreover of the finding in a personal and conscience way the true meaning of beauty and of love. The solution of this problem of unrequited loved lay at last within her grasp; of a love that only asked to give of its unquenched and unquenchable store, undismayed by the total absence of response. As Blackwood writes this story with his well-known articulation for all things beautiful and even grotesque, he adds a plot twist that is gut wrenching; which afterward you cannot stop reading until the endif only to be certain.Algernon Henry Blackwood (1869-1951) was an English writer of tales of the supernatural. In his late thirties, Blackwood started to write horror stories. He was very successful, writing ten books of short stories and appearing on both radio and television to tell them. He also wrote fourteen novels and a number of plays, most of which were produced but not published. He was an avid lover of nature, and many of his stories reflect this. Although Blackwood wrote a number of horror stories, his most typical work seeks less to frighten than to induce a sense of awe. Good examples are the novels The Centaur (1911), which climaxes with a traveller's sight of a herd of the mythical creatures; and Julius LeVallon (1916) and its sequel The Bright Messenger (1921), which deal with reincarnation and the possibility of a new, mystical evolution in human consciousness. His best stories, such as those collected in the book Incredible Adventures (1914), are masterpieces of atmosphere, construction and suggestion.
Seiten E-Book:
Verlag E-Book:
Phoemixx Classics Ebooks
ISBN E-Book:

© Phoemixx Classics Ebooks (E-Book)