More Ghost Stories of an Antiquary- M. R. James

4 Std. 58 Min.
167 Seiten


More Ghost Stories of an Antiquary is a collection of ghost stories by English author M. R. James.

M. R. James wrote many of his ghost stories to be read aloud in the long tradition of spooky Christmas Eve tales. His stories often use rural settings, with a quiet, scholarly protagonist getting caught up in the activities of supernatural forces. The details of horror are almost never explicit, the stories relying on a gentle, bucolic background to emphasise the awfulness of the otherworldly intrusions.

Stories included in this volume are: "A School Story", "The Rose Garden", "The Tractate Middoth", "Casting the Runes", "The Stalls of Barchester Cathedral", "Martin's Close", "Mr Humphreys and His Inheritance"

More Ghost Stories of an Antiquary is the second collection of ghost stories by M. R. James, published in 1911. The first volume (Ghost Stories of an Antiquary) was published in 1904. Audiobook read by Peter Yearsley, running time 5 hours. Unabridged full version. Also available as E-Book: ePUB, 48,300 words, average reading time 4 hours.

M. R. James published a total of 4 collections of his ghost stories; Ghost Stories of an Antiquary (1904), More Ghost Stories of an Antiquary (1911), A Thin Ghost And Others(1919) and A Warning to the Curious and Other Ghost Stories (1925).

Montague Rhodes James (1862-1936), was an English medieval scholar. He is best remembered for his ghost stories, which are regarded as among the best in the genre. James redefined the ghost story for the new century by abandoning many of the formal Gothic clichés of his predecessors and using more realistic contemporary settings. However, James's protagonists and plots tend to reflect his own antiquarian interests. Accordingly, he is known as the originator of the "antiquarian ghost story".

E-Book, Hörbuch
Laufzeit Hörbuch:
4 Std. 58 Min.
Seiten E-Book:
Verlag Hörbuch:
Anncona Media
ISBN Hörbuch:
Verlag E-Book:
Anncona Media
ISBN E-Book:

© Anncona Media (Hörbuch)

© Anncona Media (E-Book)